Redistricting Committee

Regular Meetings

Please visit the Agenda Center for upcoming meeting details:


  • Andrew Rand (Chairperson)
  • James Fennell (Vice Chairperson)
  • James Dillon
  • Sharon Williams

Committee Overview and Responsibilities

  1. The Redistricting Committee shall prepare and recommend to the full Board a redistricting plan for 18 new single-member districts using the most recent data available from the U.S. Census Bureau.
  2. Each district shall be (1) substantially equal in population to each other district and (2) comprised of contiguous territory, as nearly compact as practicable.
  3. The redistricting plan shall comply with the United States Constitution, any federal law regarding redistricting, including but not limited to the federal Voting Rights Act, the Illinois Constitution, and the Illinois Counties Code.
  4. The redistricting plan shall be drawn, to the extent practicable and subject to federal and state laws, to create crossover districts, coalition districts, or influence districts as defined by the Illinois Voting Rights Act of 2011.
  5. The redistricting plan shall be prepared and recommended by the Redistricting Committee prior to the regular Board meeting in July 2021.