All birth, marriage, and death indexes listing records filed prior to 1916 have been scanned and are are available for viewing in the Document Center. These records are being provided for genealogical purposes only. Illinois state law only allows the indexes listing records filed prior to 1916 to be open to the public.
These records use a index/register system. The index books list the names from the corresponding register book by alphabetical letter and provides the page number for the applicable register book. The register books then contain information from the record.
For birth records, keep in mind that many births prior to 1916 where not registered. A delayed birth record may have been created after 1915 and would only be listed in the index books. The register books after 1915 for delayed births are not available for public viewing. The actual record could be requested as detailed below.
Birth & Marriage Records
Birth and marriage records 75 years old and older are considered genealogy after the individuals are deceased. The cost per search and one copy, if located, is $5. If certified copies are required for a legal purpose, the cost per search is $16 (plus $7 for each additional certified copy of the same record). Birth records begin in December 1877 and marriage records begin in 1825.
Death records that have been on file at least 20 years are considered genealogy and the cost per search and one copy, if located, is $5. If records need to be certified for a legal purpose, the cost per search is $20 (plus $11 for each additional certified copy of the same record). Death records begin in December 1877.
All records considered genealogy will be searched by genealogists and returned by mail to the requester. Clerks will look up non-genealogical records that require certification. You may request copies by submitting the Genealogy Request Form (PDF).
The cost is $5 per search at the time of the request. Additional copies of the same record are $4. Search fees cannot be refunded if the record is not found; however, a “No Record” certification can be issued. Searches must be paid for with cash, check (check must include your Driver's License Number and State where issued, if not Illinois, and your phone number), credit/debit card.
If you are making your request by mail, we cannot accept debit or credit cards. There is a $2.50 charge for debit card usage in person. Credit card transactions up to $50 will be charged a $2.50 fee. Additional fees apply to credit card transactions above $50.