News Flash


Posted on: May 31, 2019

Peoria County Real Estate Taxes Due June 4

Peoria County Treasurer Nicole Bjerke would like to remind Peoria County taxpayers that the first installment of real estate taxes is due on Tuesday, June 4, 2019. Taxes are payable at most county banks with payment coupon, by mail, by credit card and electronic check, at township collector addresses listed on the tax bill, or in person at the Treasurer’s Office.

Payments made by mail must be postmarked by the post office on or before June 4, 2019. Be sure to check the pickup times at mail receptacles to ensure an accurate postmark. Payments postmarked after June 4, 2019 will be subject to a penalty charge. The appropriate payment stub located on the bottom of the tax bill should accompany the tax payment. Taxpayers should remember to put their parcel number on their check to ensure proper credit.

If a tax bill has been misplaced, lost or never received, a duplicate bill can be printed online at Failure to receive a tax bill, or receiving it late for any reason, does not relieve the taxpayer of penalties if not paid by the due date.

The Treasurer’s Office is located at the Peoria County Courthouse, 324 Main St., Room G-15. It is open from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. 

Questions regarding the payment of your taxes should be directed to the Peoria County Treasurer’s Office at (309) 672-6065, option 5.

Calls regarding address changes, property assessments, and exemptions should be directed to the Supervisor of Assessments office at (309) 672-6910. 

Questions regarding the City of Peoria garbage fee should be directed to the City Finance Department at (309) 494-8807.